What is NASTO?

The Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials (NASTO) brings together representatives from the state transportation departments of the Northeastern United States and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec. NASTO serves as a focal point for discussion and research on transportation issues of interest to its members, with an emphasis on promoting cooperation and partnership among its members.NASTO members include the Transportation Departments (or equivalent) and their employees in Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Quebec, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Our Leadership

NASTO President Garrett T. Eucalitto

Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Transportation

Garrett T. Eucalitto was confirmed as Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDOT) in January 2023. As Commissioner he oversees an agency tasked with the responsibility of providing a safe and efficient intermodal transportation network that improves the quality of life for all. In this capacity he administers a $3 billion annual budget and works alongside over 3,500 colleagues at CTDOT, making it one of Connecticut’s largest state agencies.

Prior to becoming Commissioner, Garrett served as the Deputy Commissioner of CTDOT from January 2020 until January 2023, where he assisted in agency administration and daily operations, managed budget development and policy initiatives, and oversaw public transportation and statewide planning efforts. Before joining CTDOT, Garrett worked as Transportation Program Director for the National Governors Association (NGA) in Washington, DC. Garrett previously served as Undersecretary at the Connecticut Office of Policy and Management, and began his career working in Washington, DC on the staff of former Senator Joe Lieberman as his legislative assistant.

Garrett earned a bachelor’s degree from the College of the Holy Cross and a master’s degree from Boston University. He is a native of Torrington and currently lives in New Haven.

NASTO Vice President William Cass, PE

Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Transportation

Bill Cass was appointed Commissioner in December of 2022. He joined the NHDOT in 1986 and has 37 years of experience with the NHDOT. Prior to that, Bill served for 7 years as the Department’s Assistant Commissioner and Chief Engineer for the Department.

Bill has many years of engineering; project development and management experience and his leadership is a key component to the success of the Department. He has held a number of supervisory and management positions at the Department including, Final Design Supervisor, Preliminary Design Section Head, Chief Project Manager, Assistant and Director of Project Development. Bill was Project Director, formerly Project Manager, for the largest project the NHDOT has ever under taken – the 20 mile, 800 million-dollar reconstruction and widening of Interstate I-93 from Salem to Manchester, and was involved with the project throughout its development and construction.

Bill is actively involved on national committees for the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), and the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials (NASTO). He has a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of New Hampshire, and lives with his wife, Colleen in Laconia.

NASTO Treasurer Andre Briere

Deputy Commissioner, New Hampshire DOT

Andre J. Briere is the Deputy Commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Transportation. He was sworn into his current office on August 6th 2021. In this capacity, he oversees a $650 million annual budget and helps lead a state agency of over 1,600 employees dedicated to providing safe, efficient transportation systems for Granite Staters.  He exercises overall direction and oversight for administration and finance at NHDOT as well as statutory responsibility for all aviation, rail, and transit within the State of New Hampshire.

Mr. Briere brings extensive aviation, transportation, logistics, emergency management, and safety management experience to his role as Deputy Commissioner.  These skills were honed over decades of increasingly responsible US military commands and C-suite roles in industry. He is a US Air Force Command Pilot, Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, and FEMA-certified National Executive Emergency Manager.

Andre graduated with honors from the United States Air Force Academy in 1990 and holds multiple graduate degrees with academic distinction. He retired from the US Air Force as a full Colonel in 2019.  Mr. Briere most recently served in government as the Defense Attaché of the United States to the Russian Federation in Moscow, Russia. He lives near Concord, NH with his wife Catherine; they have two grown children. This is his second term as NASTO Treasurer.

NASTO Secretary Pamela Sucato

BIO Coming Soon

Current Officers

PresidentNicole Majeski, Secretary, Delaware DOT
Vice PresidentEverett Lott, Director, District DOT
TreasurerAndre Briere, Deputy Commissioner, New Hampshire DOT
SecretaryPamela Sucato

Board of Directors


Garrett Eucalitto, Commissionerct-seal1
Connecticut Department of Transportation
2800 Berlin Turnpike
P.O. Box 317546
Newington, CT 06131-7546
(860) 594-3000


Nicole Majeski, Secretaryde-seal
Delaware Department of Transportation
119 Lower Beach Street, Suite 100
Wilmington, DE 19805-4440
(302) 760-2715

District of Columbia

Sharon Kershbaum, Interim Directordc-seal
District of Columbia Department of Transportation
55 M Street, SE, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20003
(202) 671-4097


Bruce Van Note, Commissionermaine-seal
Maine Department of Transportation
Transportation Building
16 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0016
(207) 624-3003


Paul Wiedefeld, Secretary
Maryland Department of Transportation
7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
(410) 865-1003


Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Secretary mass-seal
Massachusetts Department of Transportation
10 Park Plaza, Suite 4160
Boston, MA 02116
(857) 368-8892

New Hampshire

Bill Cass, Commissionernh-seal
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
John O. Morton Building
7 Hazen Drive
P.O. Box 483
Concord, NH 03302-0483
(603) 271-1484

New Jersey

Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, Commissionernj-seal
New Jersey Department of Transportation
1035 Parkway Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08625
(609) 963-1940

New York

Marie Therese Dominguez, Commissionerny-seal
New York State Department of Transportation
50 Wolf Road
Albany, NY 12232
(518) 457-4422


Eric Doidge, Assistant Deputy Minister TIMDvt-seal
Ministry of Transportation
77 Wellesley Street West
Toronto, Ontario
(416) 327-9200


Michael Carroll, Secretarypa-seal
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
Keystone Building
400 North Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0095
(717) 787-5574


Jérôme Unterberg, Assistant Deputy Minister quebec-seal
Department of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification
Ministère des Transports du Québec
700, boulevard René-Levesque Est, 28e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5H1
(418) 528-6416

Rhode Island

Peter Alviti Jr., Directorri-seal
Rhode Island Department of Transportation
State Office Building
Two Capitol Hill, Room 210
Providence, RI 02903-1124
(401) 222-2481


Joe Flynn, Secretaryvt-seal
Vermont Agency of Transportation
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05633-5001
(802) 828-2690